Golden Slipper winners

The Golden Slipper is Australia’s premier 2yo horse race, it is run every year at the Rosehill racecourse during the Sydney autmun carnival. We list all of the winners dating back to first running of the race in 1957.

See the full list of Golden Slipper winners now.

Pierro in full flight wins the 2012 Golden Slipper.

Pierro in full flight wins the 2012 Golden Slipper.

Golden Slipper wins by jockey

While horses only get one shot at winning the Golden Slipper, jockeys have the chance to participate in multiple events over the years. Several jockeys have amassed impressive records over the years winning the race on multiple occassions. One of the most successful jockeys in the races history is Shane Dye, who incredibly won the race four times in a row between 1989 – 1992. Ron Quinton, now a trainer, also won the Slipper on four occassions in the 1980s.

More recently, Tommy Berry won his third Golden Slipper on Stay Inside, he has a chance to join Dye and Quinton on four wins in the coming years.

Most Golden Slipper wins by jockeys

JockeyNumber of winsYears
R. Quinton41982 – 1983, 1985, 1987
R.S. Dye41989 – 1992
A. Mulley31958, 1960, 1964
K. Langby31972, 1974 – 1975
L. Dittman31981, 1985, 1993
T. Berry32013, 2015, 2021

Trainers to have won multiple Golden Slippers

When it comes to training Golden Slipper winners, one family dominates. Gai Waterhouse has won the race a remarkable 7 times. Her father, Tommy Smith, won the race on 6 occassions. The two are well clear of Bart Cummings, Lee Freedman and Clarry Conners who have all won the race 4 times. Freedman’s wins are noteworthy as they all came in consecutive years between 1993 – 1996.

Most Golden Slipper wins by trainers

TrainerNumber of winsYears
Gai Waterhouse72001, 2004, 2008, 2012 – 2013, 2015, 2020
Tommy Smith61971 – 1972, 1974 – 1975, 1986, 1988
Bart Cummings41996, 1973, 1976, 1979
Clarry Conners41991 – 1992, 1998, 2000
Lee Freedman41993 – 1996

Complete list of Golden Slipper winners

YearWinnerWeight (kg)TimeJockeyTrainer
2021Stay Inside56.501:10.8T. BerryM. & R. Freedman
2020Farnan56.501:10.2H. BowmanGai Waterhouse
2019Kiamichi54.501:12.8D. M LaneJames Cummings
2018Estijaab54.501:12.0B. AvdullaM, W & J.Hawkes
2017She Will Reign54.501:15.0B. J MelhamGary Portelli
2016Capitalist56.501:10.6B. ShinnP & P Snowden
2015Vancouver56.501:09.7T. BerryGai Waterhouse
2014Mossfun54.501:12.2J. B McDonaldM, W & J.Hawkes
2013Overreach54.501:11.0T. BerryGai Waterhouse
2012Pierro56.501:09.7N. RawillerGai Waterhouse
2011Sepoy56.501:10.1K. McEvoyP.Snowden
2010Crystal Lily54.501:10.8B. PrebbleM.Ellerton & S.Zahra
2009Phelan Ready56.501:11.8B. RawillerB. & J.McLachlan
2008Sebring56.501:12.9G. BossGai Waterhouse
2007Forensics54.501:09.3D. OliverJohn Hawkes
2006Miss Finland54.501:09.5C. WilliamsDavid Hayes
2005Stratum56.501:09.7L. BeasleyPaul Perry
2004Dance Hero56.501:08.6C. MunceGai Waterhouse
2003Polar Success53.501:09.1D. BeasleyG A Rogers
2002Calaway Gal52.501:08.8S. SeamerBruce Brown 
2001Ha Ha52.501:08.9J. CassidyGai Waterhouse
2000Belle Du Jour52.501:09.5L. BeasleyClarry Conners
1999Catbird55.501:10.0M. de MontfortFrank Cleary
1998Prowl55.501:09.5C. MunceClarry Conners
1997Guineas55.501:09.0D. BeadmanJohn Hawkes
1996Merlene52.501:09.3G. HallLee Freedman
1995Flying Spur55.501:10.2G. BossLee Freedman
1994Danzero55.501:09.8G. HallLee Freedman
1993Bint Marscay52.501:08.9L. DittmanLee Freedman
1992Burst52.501:10.2R.S. DyeClarry Conners
1991Tierce55.501:09.3R.S. DyeClarry Conners
1990Canny Lad55.501:15.4R.S. DyeRick Hore-Lacy
1989Courtza (NZ)52.501:12.8R.S. DyeRoss McDonald
1988Star Watch55.501:13.0L. OlsenTommy Smith
1987Marauding (NZ)55.501:10.6R. QuintonBrian Mayfield-Smith
1986Bounding Away52.501:09.9L. DittmanTommy Smith
1985Rory’s Jester55.501:10.3R. QuintonColin Hayes
1984Inspired5401:11.6D. Beadman (a)Theo Green
1983Sir Dapper5401:09.9R. QuintonLes Bridge
1982Marscay5401:10.6R. QuintonJack Denham
1981Full On Aces5401:13.1L. DittmanAngus Armanasco
1980Dark Eclipse5101:10.4K. MosesNeville Begg
1979Century Miss5101:10.7W. Harris (a)Bart Cummings
1978Manikato5401:10.7G. WillettsBen Hoysted
1977Luskin Star5401:10.0J. WadeMax Lees
1976Vivarchi5101:11.7J. DugganBart Cummings
1975Toy Show5101:12.0K. LangbyTommy Smith
1974Hartshill5101:13.0K. LangbyTommy Smith
1973Tontonan5401:11.7R. HigginsBart Cummings
1972John’s Hope8.701:11.1K. LangbyTommy Smith
1971Fairy Walk801:12.6G. MooreTommy Smith
1970Baguette8.701:12.7G. MooreFil Allotta
1969Vain8.701:12.1P. HylandJim Moloney
1968Royal Parma8.701:11.9N. CamptonJ Daniels
1967Sweet Embrace801:13.2C. ClareTed Stanton
1966Storm Queen801:12.9R. HigginsBart Cummings
1965Reisling801:11.1L. BillettJack Norman
1964Eskimo Prince8.701:11.9A. MulleyC C Rolls
1963Pago Pago8.701:15.5W. PyersTom Jenner
1962Birthday Card801:11.4R. GreenwoodReg Ferris
1961Magic Night801:11.9M. SchumacherHarry Plant
1960Sky High8.701:11.9A. MulleyJack Green
1959Fine And Dandy8.701:12.8J. ThompsonHarry Plant
1958Skyline8.701:12.7A. MulleyJack Green
1957Todman8.701:11.4N. SellwoodMaurice McCarten