Cox Plate winners

The Cox Plate is Australia’s premier weight-for-age race, run every year at Moonee Valleey racecourse just 10 days before the Melbourne Cup. We list all of the Cox Plate winners dating back to 1922 and take a closer look at the those special horses that have won the race more than once.

See the full list of Cox Plate winners now.

Winx strides to the winning post to win her 4th Cox Plate.

Winx strides to the winning post to win her 4th Cox Plate. Source: AAP – Julian Smith

Multiple winners of the Cox Plate

The list of multiple Cox Plate winners is headlined by the mighty mare Winx, who won four times in a row between 2015 and 2018. Kingston Town famously won three in a row in the early eighties and string of other horses won two Cox Plates, notably: Phar Lap, Tobin Bronze, Flight, Sunline and Northerly. Fields of Omagh also won two Cox Plates a three full years apart, in between, he ran second and third in the great race; he was nine years old when he won his second W.S Cox Plate.

List of multiple Cox Plate winners

HorseNumber of winsYears
Winx42015 – 2018
Kingston Town31980 – 1982
So You Think22009 – 2010
Fields Of Omagh22003, 2006
Northerly22001 – 2002
Sunline21999 – 2000
Tobin Bronze21966 – 1967
Hydrogen21952 – 1953
Flight21945 – 1946
Tranquil Star21942, 1944
Beau Vite21940 – 41
Young Idea21936 – 1937
Chatham21932, 1934
Phar Lap21929 – 1930

Cox Plate wins by jockey

A number of jockeys have had an affinity with the Cox Plate, winning the race on several occassions. Darby Munro won a remarkable 5 Cox Plates between 1933 and 1952. Hugh Bowman, Glen Boss, Brent Thomson and Jack Purtell have each won 4 Cox Plates.

Trainers to have won multiple Cox Plates

When it comes to trainers, one name is synonmous with the Cox Plate more than any other. T.J. Smith won an incredible 7 Cox Plates. Not far behind was Jack Holt with 6, Bart Cummings with 5 while Chris Waller appears to have plenty of years left to add to his tally of 4.

Complete list of Cox Plate winners

2020Sir Dragonet (IRE)4 b cGlen BossCiaron Maher & David Eustace02:08.5
2019Lys Gracieux (JPN)6 b mDamian LaneYoshito Yahagi02:04.2
2018Winx7 b mHugh BowmanChris Waller02:03.5
2017Winx6 b mHugh BowmanChris Waller02:02.9
2016Winx5 b mHugh BowmanChris Waller02:06.4
2015Winx4 b mHugh BowmanChris Waller02:03.0
2014Adelaide (IRE)4 b hRyan MooreAidan O’Brien02:03.8
2013Shamus Award3 b cChad SchofieldDanny O’Brien02:05.3
2012Ocean Park4 b hGlen BossGary Hennessy02:04.1
2011Pinker Pinker4 b mCraig WilliamsGreg Eurell02:05.4
2010So You Think4 b hSteve ArnoldJ B Cummings02:07.5
2009So You Think3 b cGlen BossJ B Cummings02:04.0
2008Maldivian6 b gMichael RoddMark Kavanagh02:06.9
2007El Segundo6 b gLuke NolenColin Little02:06.3
2006Fields Of Omagh9 b gCraig WilliamsDavid A. Hayes02:06.9
2005Makybe Diva6 b mGlen BossLee Freedman02:09.3
2004Savabeel3 br cChris MunceGraeme Rogerson02:06.9
2003Fields Of Omagh6 b gSteven KingTony McEvoy02:07.6
2002Northerly6 b gPatrick PayneFred Kersley02:06.3
2001Northerly5 b gDamien OliverFred Kersley02:05.8
2000Sunline5 b mGreg ChildsTrevor McKee02:07.7
1999Sunline4 b mGreg ChildsTrevor McKee02:05.4
1998Might and Power5 b/br gJim CassidyJack Denham02:03.5
1997Dane Ripper4 b fDamien OliverJ B Cummings02:07.7
1996Saintly4 ch gDarren BeadmanJ B Cummings02:05.7
1995Octagonal3 br cShane DyeJohn Hawkes02:06.4
1994Solvit6 b gDavid WalshMoira Murdoch02:02.6
1993The Phantom Chance4 ch gRobert VanceColin Jillings02:02.8
1992Super Impose8 ch gGreg HallLee Freedman02:05.5
1991Surfers Paradise4 br gLance O’SullivanDavid J. O’Sullivan02:03.8
1990Better Loosen Up5 b cM ClarkeDavid A. Hayes02:01.5
1989Almaarad6 ch cM ClarkeColin Hayes02:03.2
1988Our Poetic Prince4 br hNoel HarrisJohn Wheeler02:06.9
1987Rubiton4 br hHarry WhiteP C Barns02:02.9
1986Bonecrusher4 ch gG StewartFrank T Ritchie02:07.2
1985Rising Prince5 ch hKevin LangbyMs D Stein02:05.3
1984Red Anchor3 ch cMick DittmanT J Smith02:03.7
1983Strawberry Road4 b hMick DittmanDoug Bougoure02:09.1
1982Kingston Town6 bl gPeter CookT J Smith02:05.5
1981Kingston Town5 bl gRon QuintonT J Smith02:06.7
1980Kingston Town4 bl gM JohnstonT J Smith02:07.3
1979Dulcify4 b hBrent ThomsonColin Hayes02:04.9
1978So Called4 b hBrent ThomsonColin Hayes02:08.7
1977Family of Man4 b hBrent ThomsonGeorge Hanlon02:05.3
1976Surround3 gr fPeter CookGeoff T. Murphy02:04.3
1975Fury’s Order5 ch hBrent ThomsonWally McEwan02:20.4
1974Battle Heights7 br gGary WillettsR Douglas02:09.9
1973Taj Rossi3 b cS AitkenJ B Cummings02:08.3
1972Gunsynd5 gr hRoy HigginsT J Smith02:01.9
1971Tauto6 b/br gL HillR Agnew02:03.9
1970Abdul3 gr cP JarmanGeoff T. Murphy02:05.5
1969Daryl’s Joy3 br cWilliam SkeltonS A Brown02:05.4
1968Rajah Sahib3 br cGeorge MooreT Hill02:04.8
1967Tobin Bronze5 ch hJim JohnsonGraeme H. Heagney02:04.8
1966Tobin Bronze4 ch hJim JohnsonGraeme H. Heagney02:07.2
1965Star Affair3 ch cP HylandAngus Armanasco02:02.0
1964Sir Dane4 br hRoy HigginsR J Shaw02:03.9
1963Summer Regent5 br gJ RiordanR T Cotter02:06.2
1962Aquanita6 b/br hF MooreR J Shaw02:04.3
1961Dhaulagiri5 b gG LaneB Courtney02:04.8
1960Tulloch6 b hNeville SellwoodT J Smith02:01.1
1959Noholme3 ch cNeville SellwoodMaurice McCarten02:02.7
1958Yeman6 ch gL WhittleH Wiggins02:16.4
1957Redcraze7 ch gGeorge MooreT J Smith02:05.6
1956Ray Ribbon5 b cJack PurtellG S Barr02:04.9
1955Kingster3 br cW CamerJ Green02:04.4
1954Rising Fast5 b/br gJack PurtellIvan Tucker02:03.8
1953Hydrogen5 br hBill WilliamsonE Hush02:05.3
1952Hydrogen4 br hDarby MunroE Hush02:04.5
1951Bronton3 ch cJack PurtellR Sinclair02:05.5
1950Alister3 ch cJack PurtellH Wolters02:06.2
1949Delta3 br cNeville SellwoodMaurice McCarten02:04.8
1948Carbon Copy3 ch cHarold BadgerD McCormick02:04.2
1947Chanak3 b cHarold BadgerJack Holt02:05.0
1946Flight6 b mJ O’SullivanFrank Nowland02:05.0
1946Leonard4 ch hW BriscoeLou Robertson02:06.0
1945Flight5 b mJ O’SullivanFrank Nowland02:08.8
1944Tranquil Star7 ch mScobie BreasleyR Cameron02:06.7
1943Amana4 ch hA DewhirstR J Shaw02:03.8
1942Tranquil Star5 ch mK SmithR Cameron02:00.8
1941Beau Vite5 br hDarby MunroFrank McGrath, Sr.01:58.3
1940Beau Vite4 br hE McMenaminFrank McGrath, Sr.01:57.8
1939Mosaic4 br hDarby MunroJ H Abbs01:56.5
1938Ajax6 ch hHarold BadgerF Musgrave01:56.7
1937Young Idea5 br hDarby MunroJack Holt01:58.5
1936Young Idea4 br hH SkidmoreJack Holt02:01.0
1935Garrio3 b cK VoitreLou Robertson01:58.5
1934Chatham6 b hS DavidsonF Williams02:03.0
1933Rogilla6 ch gDarby MunroLes Haigh01:58.5
1932Chatham4 b hJames MunroF Williams02:02.8
1931Phar Lap5 ch gJames PikeHarry Telford02:01.5
1930Phar Lap[37]4 ch gJames PikeHarry Telford01:59.3
1929Nightmarch4 br cRoy ReedA McAulay02:01.5
1928Highland7 b/br gW DuncanJack Holt02:06.7
1927Amounis5 br gJ TooheyFrank McGrath, Sr.02:00.5
1926Heroic5 ch hH CairnsJack Holt01:58.0
1925Manfred3 b cF DempseyH McCalman01:57.0
1924The Night Patrol6 b hG YoungJames Scobie01:59.2
1923Easingwold5 ch hG HarrisonJack Holt01:57.2
1922Violoncello6 ch hJ KingC H Bryans01:57.5